IFKN Webinar: Food Sovereignty and Self-Governance: Inuit Role in Managing Arctic Marine Resources

When

January 15th, 2020 at 10 am AST/11 am PST/12 pm MST/ 1 pm CDT/ 2 pm EST

 

webinar meeting

"Food Sovereignty and Self-Governance: Inuit Role in Managing Arctic Marine Resources"

Featuring Carolina Behe of the Inuit Circumpolar Council-Alaska

The presentation provides an overview of Inuit food security and Sovereignty, of the FSSG project, and initial key findings. There will be time for discussion after her presentation.

Speaker Bio:

Carolina Behe is the Indigenous Knowledge/Science advisor for the Inuit Circumpolar Council Alaska. Her work within the Inuit Circumpolar Council Alaska is diverse and ranges from topics within food security and climatic variability to management and policy. And within the past couple of years, her focus has been on food sovereignty. Internationally, Carolina acts as the Inuit Circumpolar Council Head of Delegation on the Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna working group under the Arctic Council. Much of ICC’s work within this group is focused on ensuring an Inuit perspective and interest are at the table. Additionally, a high amount of focus is placed on the involvement of Indigenous Knowledge, promoting the involvement of Indigenous Knowledge and promoting the use of a co-production of knowledge to utilize both Indigenous Knowledge and science in the work conducted within the Arctic Council.


Carolina's work allows for her to work within two knowledge systems, Indigenous Knowledge and science. Indigenous Knowledge takes a holistic view and sees how many pieces fit together. Working with this understanding and way of knowing, combined with science, will aid in make adaptive ecosystem based decisions in the face of climate change.