Webinar: Hopi Food Sovereignty through Farming and Coalitions

When

Thursday, May 7, 2020

10 am AKDT/ 11 am PDT/ 11 am MST/ 12 pm MDT/ 2 pm EST

Join us for a webinar on Hopi food sovereignty initiatives hosted by the Indigenous Foods Knowledges Network. The presenters will talk about Hopi Food Sovereignty from their own experiences and work. A presentation by Terri Honani will describe the work of the Natwani Coalition and how the non-profit's initiatives help to preserve Hopi farming traditions, strengthen the local Hopi food system and develop innovative sustainable strategies to promote wellness through “itam naapyani” or “doing the work ourselves.”  A second presentation by Dr. Michael Kotutwa Johnson will focus on the resiliency of Hopi agriculture and how conservation programs can reinforce American Indian Identity and culture. 

To register: https://arizona.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJEscuGgrDsrGt0kqOUf1giihe4vj5V6YGLi

Speakers: 
Terri Honani (Hopi and Tewa) is from the Tobacco Clan from the Village of Tewa on the Hopi reservation. She has her Bachelor’s degree of Science in Exercise and Wellness Health Promotions from Arizona State University. Currently, she is the Program Manager for the Natwani Coalition, a project of the Hopi Foundation.  

Michael Kotutwa Johnson (Hopi) is a Research Associate for the Native American Agriculture Fund  (NAAF) and holds a PhD. In Natural Resources from the University of Arizona. He is Hopi farmer who continues agriculture and conservation techniques that predates western science by well over two millennia.